Emotional Moments

image

I am one of those people that wear their hearts on their sleeve. I love and feel very deeply, therefore, I am sensitive and get my feelings hurt easily. It is a character trait of mine, that I do not appreciate. When I was a child, I prayed that God would make me feel less, so I would hurt less. He never answered that prayer. However, I have grown in the area of how I deal with emotion. Still, somedays words hurt, comments cut deep, relationships are hard. When tears well up in my eyes, I feel a lump in the back of my throat, or my heart aches…I get upset with myself. How could I let that get into my head. What’s wrong with me? I can be very impatient with myself.

Recently, I was trying to suppress my feelings of being hurt, when the song by David Crowder, “Oh How He Loves Me” came on the radio. As I focused on the words of the song, I felt a rush of peace come over me. I began to think about the antidote for my hurt feelings. It is in realizing that the God of the Universe created me, and loves me so much! When I focus on the perfect love and acceptance I have with my Heavenly Father, I am less sensitive to the comments of imperfect people like myself. I realize the only opinion that matters is that of my God, and He accepts me completely because of what Jesus did for me on the cross. My identity is not in human approval…rather it is in Christ. That realization puts life in perspective for me. Pray it does for you, as well.

Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends.
John 15:13

May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.
Ephesians 3:19

One thought on “Emotional Moments

  1. I have a daughter who everyone says is “too sensitive.’ Maybe she it – but I have found that trait of hers many times a blessing. Being super sensitive to feelings – she may get her feelings hurt too easily, but she also is very aware of others and their feelings and often ministers to people when I – being so not super sensitive – don’t even realize they are hurting. Perhaps you wearing your heart on your sleeve is a blessing – not something to feel condemned about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

