Moments with the Moon

image

One could probably say, that I am obsessed with the moon.  I am mesmerized by its beauty and it’s changing appearance. Almost nightly, I call my children to the backyard to view the night sky.  I am convinced, that I will never get used to seeing it.  I will always be in awe of the moon’s golden glow against the pitch dark backdrop of the evening sky.

Why do I love the moon so much?  Perhaps it began when l I was a child.  I recall running around the backyard on balmy, summer evenings in Texas, chasing lightening bugs.  Then, all of a sudden the moon would catch my eye, and I would stand in amazement of it.  I would squint until I could see an almost human silhouette inside, the man in the moon.  I had dreams of what it would be like to be on the surface of the moon.  To be able to touch it, see it up close, and view Earth from above.

image

Perhaps, it began when I went to college.  I would lay on the grass, look up at the sky, and think of my family and friends, looking at the exact same moon as I was, even though we were separated by over 300 miles.  A distance that seemed huge at the time.

Perhaps it began when I moved to Washington State, 2000 miles from where I grew up,  and where most of my family lived.  I would walk out on the back deck, in the chill of the evening, and look to the top of the evergreens.  This Texas girl was astonished by the density of the forrest.  In places, it was so dense, that light did not penetrate.  However, perfectly framed by the trees of our backyard, was the spectacular moon.  I would look at the moon, and again think about my grandmother, sister, mother, father, and friends looking at the same moon.  It helped me feel a connection with the people I love, even though we were separated by distance.

image

Perhaps, it began when I became a mother.  I think I have read the book “Goodnight Moon” a million times.  It is a favorite in our home.  Daily I recite the line “I love you to the moon and back”.  I say those words to my children:  when I tuck them in bed, when they wake up, when I drop them at school, and pick them up.  Pretty much anytime we are going to be separated, I repeat those words.  Not just to say something, not just in a rote manner, but from the heart.  I truly do love my children to the moon and back….at least infinity times!

Though I do not know the when or why, of my moon infatuation, I guess it really does not matter.  The truth is, when I see the moon it points me to a magnificent creator.  For that, I am very thankful!

The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.  Psalm 19:1

2 thoughts on “Moments with the Moon

  1. Amen to that! There is something so compelling and new every time the moon comes out, yet familiar and reassuring like you said. I love Ps 19, and the songs with moon or moon dance in them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

