Is it a Happy Day?

image

Every Friday, I post a scripture verse and encouragements on Facebook. I always begin my post with the phrase, “Happy Friday friends”. Last week, I posted as usual. The question was posed to me, “Is it really a happy Friday because you are sick and in pain from Crohn’s Disease?”

It made me reflect. Was I being disingenuous or dishonest in calling it a happy day? I guess, it is all in how you look at it. Our view of the circumstances we are experiencing comes down to our perspective.

In all honesty, every day, even one full of pain, is a happy day to me. Happiness and joy is not situational. It is not circumstantial, either. It is based on HOPE. An expectation that one day I will no longer feel this pain. A belief that one day I will have a perfect body. A conviction that one day I will be with my Heavenly Father, in a place that He prepared for me.

Happiness comes from fixing our eyes on Jesus. Looking at how He suffered on our behalf, more pain than we will ever experience, on the cross. Realizing that He willing submitted to that pain, taking our sins and punishment upon Himself, because He loved us. Knowing that the trials of this life create in us: perseverance, grow our character, and conform us to Christ. They have a purpose! Even when we may not see why…we can trust God. He loves us and desires our best. So what’s not to be happy about?

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. James 1:2-3 

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. Romans 5:3-4

2 thoughts on “Is it a Happy Day?

  1. AMEN. Christian joy and happiness are truly NOT based on circumstances or situations presented to us. Joy comes from our life in Christ through the Holy Spirit — indeed, it is a fruit of the Holy Spirit spoken of in Galatians 5. Pain is part of our fleshly bodies that we endure here and now, learning from it and sharing God’s grace through it. While it is sometimes hard to smile when the pain is severe, the joy in the Lord does not lessen even in those times. That is when His grace and presence is even nearer to us. So, Happy Friday, or Happy Wednesday — Happy is the one whose faith is in the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

