Make Room

image

I recently visited a coffee shop by myself. A beautiful moment to read and write with no interruptions. I sat down at a two person table and put my bags on the other chair. I flashed back to my single days, when I would often fill the extra chair with my belongings, to prohibit a single man from coming and occupying the chair. I wanted the time to study and read by myself. It seemed an empty chair communicated, I was available and willing to talk.

As I reflected back on this, I thought about how we often do the same with God. We try to fill our lives with so many activities and clutter, so that there is no time for our Heavenly Father. Sometimes this is a conscious decision, like my filling of the other chair. Maybe because of guilt, we do not want to allow Him in. However, more often then not, it is a default situation. We fill our lives and He gets what is left.

Seems so backwards, doesn’t it? God gave His only Son’s life for us, yet we put Him last in ours. We elevate things like work, activities, social events, sports, and hobbies. Not that these things are bad, they just are not of the same value that spending time with our Heavenly Father is. Pray we make time and leave a chair open at our table for God…today and always!

My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.
Psalm 62: 1-2

Be still and know that I am God.
Psalm 41:10a

One thought on “Make Room

  1. Thanks, Rebecca. Once, while traveling by bus when I was single. I did the same thing, plus I pretended to be asleep at the stops s on o one would sit next to me. I struggle daily with taking breaks from doing my cards, &sitting in my recliner to read the Bible & talk to God, which is where I’m headed right now. good reminder. You are awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

