A Moment with my Favorite Verses

image

I was recently asked to share my favorite Bible verse.  As I thought about how to answer this question, many verses flew through my head. I truly believe the Holy Spirit often brings specific verses to mind, for certain periods of life. Verses that have special meaning based on the circumstances and experiences we are going through. However, three verses in particular have been meaningful to me for my entire life.

Since I can remember, probably about the age of 4, I have had a passion to make sure that those I come in contact with, know about Jesus, and what He has done for me.  Whether it is my neighbor, classmate, or a stranger I meet…it breaks my heart to think I could have shared my Savior with them, and did not.  So, one of my life verses is Acts 20:24,  “But my life is worth nothing to me unless I use it for finishing the work assigned me by the Lord Jesus—the work of telling others the Good News about the wonderful grace of God.” 

Another one of my favorites is 1 Peter 3:3-4, “Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.”  My knowledge and then love for these words, developed from a very young age. This verse was written on a plaque that hung over my bed, as a child. I read them over, and over, eventually committing them to memory. They taught me, and continually remind me, what true beauty is by God’s definition rather than the world’s.   

Lastly, all of Psalm 46.  Probably my two favorite verses from this chapter are 1 and 10, “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”   Since the age of twelve, I have lived with Crohn’s Disease, and I struggle with pain and a lack of energy, on most days.  So often I look to God as my strength for the day or the moment.  I find this to be the beautiful thing about living with an imperfect body, it makes relying on my Heavenly Father’s strength easier, as I have no other option. Verse 10 reminds me to rest in His presence. He is God. He is in control. He has a plan, and nobody or nothing will thwart it. What a peace those words bring, when we meditate on them!

I could name many more favorite verses. Verses that were particularly meaningful for a period. The Bible truly contains words of wisdom and comfort for all of life’s situations. It is my favorite book, and truly the only book I ever really need. Reading through the Bible, and watching the Gospel message unfold throughout its 66 books is beautiful. The greatest love story ever…that of God for the human race.

One thought on “A Moment with my Favorite Verses

  1. Rebecca, you’re spot on again. I was raised in the church. My grandmother was very legalistic. we never read the bible together as a family, so Ihave only been reading the Bible daily for about 6 years. I stopped getting library books, &just rad books otherthan those on my monthly list. Plus2 friends have given me devotionals. with my “new” brain, I must write things down multiple times to remember, very different for me ,but worth the effort. Thanks for today”s thoughts &verses.

    Like

Leave a Reply

