Speak Life

image

We are all probably aware of the fallacy in the old adage, “Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me”.  Most of us can think of a demeaning or condescending  statement made to us at some point in our lives, that has haunted us since the moment it was uttered.  The tongue is both a powerful tool and a deadly weapon.  We have the power with our words to crush spirits, ruin relationships, and destroy our chance of a witness.  Words and attitudes are very hard to reverse or retract even when forgiveness takes place.  They often spiral in the form of gossip.  Nothing discredits the gospel message in the eyes of the world more than this kind of behavior. 

On the other hand, words can be used brilliantly to encourage one another:  to speak life,  to brighten someone’s day,  to make the impossible seem possible to a fellow human being, or to shine sunshine into a person’s otherwise dark existence.  Often, we think loving and encouraging thoughts, but do not take the time out of our busy life to express them. However, if we took the time to share our thoughts, we would transform relationships, which would ripple outward throughout our sphere of influence.  Pray we will use our words only to encourage and build up, bringing life and health to all we come in contact with, by the power of the Holy Spirit…today and always!

Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body.  Proverbs 16:24

One thought on “Speak Life

  1. Rebecca. asteachers, our tongues have a lot of power. I always strived to be encouraging. As an adolescent, &teenager, my brother, who is one year older would twist my arm behind my back, punch me in the stomach, etc. I could not equal him physically,so I developed a quick wit & sharp tongue, which I would used to “get “back at him or”embarrass him. sometimes, those sharp words come to the surface if Tim is “persecuting” me. The difference? Now, as a believer. I hold my tongue. Sometimes I almost have to “bite” my tongue. God is helping me in this area& my brother&I have forgiven each other &made our peace.. Now we only disagree about political issues Our mantrato guest sat ourhouse”Leave the politics at the door”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

