Difficult Moments…or Days

image

The last five days have not been my favorite.  It all began on Friday evening, when I walked downstairs and sunk into squishy carpet.  At first, I thought the kids had spilled something, then quickly realized this was much bigger than that.  Our water heater was leaking.  Nothing like making this discovery at 9 pm on a Friday night when your husband is out of town!  Saturday my vacuum broke.  Sunday my son came down with the tummy bug while sleeping and created 8 loads of laundry and a middle of the night bed change.  Also, Sunday we discovered we have a bee hive somewhere in the structure of our basement.  Monday my son continued in his illness.  Around 4 pm, I noticed he was acting unusual.   He was hallucinating and did not even recognize me.  When he spoke, he did not make sense and his body was shaking.   I was terrified.  We rushed him to the ER and he was diagnosed with dehydration.   He was given intravenous liquids.  Also, Monday Lily came down with the stomach flu.  Tuesday, Rachel came down with the stomach flu.  My Crohn’s Disease caused me pain, and I could not stand up straight. Wednesday, the triplets continued in their illness and our power went out for most of the day.  Wednesday evening I went to start the dishwasher, and it would not start.  I burst into tears!  I had enough.  Looking back, it seems kind of silly.  However, in the moment I felt overwhelmed.  

I think we all have had experiences that felt like, “when it rains it pours”.  The times we felt anxious when the phone rings, and we expect bad news, because so many bad things have happened recently.  The moments when we are, “waiting for the next shoe to drop”.  During the times we are experiencing these struggles, they are difficult and painful. 

I do not know why we have these periods in life.  Yet, I know God knows what He is doing and His plan is much bigger than what we can see.  I know He loves us regardless of what we are experiencing. I know He is our strength in these times and He uses them to mold us into His image. I know our Heavenly Father is in control, and we can find our peace and rest in that truth. I know that these too will pass. I know that often when we look back, we see these days as beautiful occasions when we relied on our Heavenly Father and He carried us through. These are the moments we reflect on, to remind ourselves of God’s faithfulness, the next time we face a trial.

God is our place of safety. He gives us strength. He is always there to help us in times of trouble.
Psalm 46:1

4 thoughts on “Difficult Moments…or Days

  1. bOY, REBECCA, YOU GOT SLAMMED. BUT YOU QUICKLY GOT YOUR FOCUS BACK TO GOD.(sorry about caps, again) Yes, He knows what’s going on, & is always therefor us. I admire how youhandled all the shoes that dropped.. You are a strong woman, but even stronger in Christ.Praying the triplets are feeling better. Hope to see you on Sunday.Lord willing & weather permitting.

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness, Rebecca! I just saw your post today and I’m so sorry you had to go through all of this. Please please please call us if we can ever help you in any situation. Tim is my “handy man” and can fix just about anything that breaks in the house or on the car. I’m so glad everyone is feeling better and look forward to seeing you all tomorrow at church 🙂
    Luv you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

