Bid Adieu to 2015

imageI have to be honest, I am not sad to say goodbye to 2015.  In fact, I say good riddance!  It had many wonderful moments. I learned and grew a lot.  However, growing and learning is not always easy.  

As I reflect back over the past 12 months, I remember times of immense physical pain as I battled Crohn’s Disease.  I am transported to moments when I was so frail that I could not even climb stairs or walk a block, and I felt face to face with my own mortality.  I think of my husband’s battle with depression and the weight I felt as a result of being unable to fix him.  I recognize the dark place we were in and the sense of loneliness that encompassed me.  I recall my son, Paul’s, two visits to the emergency room and the anxiety I felt realizing He was very ill with pneumonia and dehydration. I think of the emotional pain and hurts that I encountered and how at times I wanted to crawl in a hole and hide.   As I evaluate life today, I am thankful for what God has done. I am feeling so much better.  My pain level is less than it has been in a very long time. Some adjustments have been made in both my treatment and lifestyle choices that have had a huge impact.  I still struggle with eating and energy and am learning to adapt to this “new reality”.  Craig is doing so much better and I am eternally grateful to our Heavenly Father for His deliverance and very proud of my husband for the steps he has taken.  My children are all growing and learning.  They bring me so much joy. Emotional healing is taking place. God is good!  I look ahead to 2016 knowing each of our days is planned.  I enter the year in hopeful anticipation of what lies ahead. I understand that though struggles are not fun, God uses them to prepare us for what is to come and to mold us into His image.  I am thankful for what our Heavenly Father delivered us from and excited for what is in store in the coming days. Pray it is a blessed year for us and for you…my precious friends and family!  Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.  James 1:2-4

I consider that our present sufferings are not worth comparing with the glory that will be revealed in us. Romans 8:18

2 thoughts on “Bid Adieu to 2015

  1. I think 2015 was a rough year all around for many I’m so glad that you, Craig, & the children have come out of the pit. I’ve been there myself. Coming out is so refreshing & renewing. So we keep going forward, & don’t focus on the bad. Keep our eyes,our hearts,& our focus on God, the Eternal One, who is always therefor us & has a plan for us. Satan is on the warpath, & as Inge says ” He can go sit on a tack!!!! PTL that you are in a better place, & we have eternity with Christ as our reward. Amen & Amen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

