My Inheritance 

  
These words come from one of my favorite hymns, “Be Thou My Vision”. I remember singing the lyrics during meaningful times throughout my life: sitting at Scofield Church in Dallas with my parents and grandparents as a young child, in the beautiful sanctuary of First Baptist Church in downtown Dallas while a high school student, in the acoustically rich cathedral at John Brown University during my college years, at our precious church in Washington state while I was pregnant with Hannah, and our first Sunday in our current home at LifePointe Church in Fort Collins.  It is as if this hymn is a ribbon intricately woven throughout my treasured memories.  As I sing the lyrics that are etched in my brain and on my heart,  I close my eyes and sing the last verse as a prayer.  May the words be always true in my life.  May Jesus Christ be first in my heart…today and always! I pray the same for you.

Riches I heed not, nor man’s empty praise,
Thou mine Inheritance, now and always:
Thou and Thou only, first in my heart,
High King of Heaven, my Treasure Thou art.

One thought on “My Inheritance 

Leave a Reply

