My Mother

image

I cannot think about Mother’s Day without thinking of my mother. I am convinced that I won the jackpot when it comes to mom’s. This is not a realization that I have come to recently. This was something I knew from a very young age. As I go through various stages of life, I appreciate different things about her.

As a child, I loved her attention and presence. My mommy was always available to me. She spent countless hours sitting on the floor and playing with my sister and I. She played everything from My Little Pony to Uno and everything in between. She was with me, sitting on the bathroom floor at 2 am, when I would struggle with Crohn’s Disease as a child. Many days she would sits outside my school and study her bible study, so she was close by, in case my pain got unbearable, and she had to bring me home. My mother always made me feel safe and loved. I felt like I was the most important thing in her world other than Jesus.

image

As a young woman, I appreciated my mother’s fun-loving personality and her passion. My mom is my best friend, other than my husband. She has the amazing ability to make everything fun. She can turn a routine trip to the grocery store into an adventure full of giggles and belly laughs. As a new pastor’s wife, I saw my mom’s passion and dedication to both teaching and discipleship. I saw her faithfulness to the young women at Dallas Theological Seminary. With my newfound insight to the difficulties of ministry, her 40+ years of experience and loyalty to her mission, spoke volumes to me.

As a mother, I am in awe of my mom’s endless energy, her lack of fear, and her ability to love. As I watch her play with my children, I pray that I will have the physical abilities and playfulness that she displays, when I have grandchildren. She always told me, “Do not allow fear to be the reason that holds you back from doing anything “. She lives this as she travels the world sharing Christ, enjoys car racing to the point of even taking an Indy car for a spin, and embraces each new day and experience as it comes. She lives life with her heart open and has a limitless capacity to love.
image

I am thankful for the sacrificial love my mother has shown me throughout life. I am thankful for the lessons I learned from her both by her words and observing her actions. I am thankful that I get to be what I always dreamed of being…a mother! I pray I allow her example to live through me, and shine into my children’s lives. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom! You are the best!

image

One thought on “My Mother

Leave a Reply

