Where Were You on 9/11?

September 11th is one of those days many of us will never forget. I can remember every aspect of the day and the days to follow. I was at home in Newport, WA. I was a first time mother to an 18 month old baby girl. It was 6:30 am. My husband’s phone rang and jarred us awake. I heard him talking, then he raced to turn on the TV. I saw an image that has haunted me ever since. We sat mesmerized and speechless. Hours passed and the situation unraveled to tell a terrifying story and to leave devastated people and families in its wake.
I remember feeling as if my world would never be the same. I held my baby girl close and wondered how I would protect her. I waited for the next attack that felt eminent. I found myself thankful to be in a small town on the Northeast side of Washington state. Certainly nobody would attack this area, with the many more populated and strategically important places available. I questioned whether I wanted to bring more children into this world. I regretted the fact that my mom lived so far away, as I wanted to cry on her shoulders. I felt numb!
I recall trying to sleep that evening and struggling. Images and thoughts filled my head. Then I heard a still small voice, “Be still.  Do not worry.  I am in control and will be exalted through this.” The words of what has since been my favorite verse filled my mind. Psalm 46:10 promises, “Be still and know that I am God. I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the Earth.” Those words brought me peace during a troubling time 16 years ago, and they have brought me peace during uncertain and difficult days since, and they will continue to as long as I have breath. Pray they do the very same for you…today and always!

Leave a Reply

