My Soapbox


I am beginning to view both of our presidential candidates in much the same way I view some of my favorite athletes. I may appreciate the way that they play the game, or in the arena of the campaign, I may agree with their politics. However, I do not care for their morals or character. It saddens me that we are at this point, yet I believe we are. 

I teach my children that they are responsible for the choices that they make. Words said can often get you into trouble even years down the road. Wrong choices made can haunt you. Excusing them is a behavior I do not find tolerable. Comparing misdeeds is upsetting. We go back and forth trying to determine who has the worse character. It sickens me. Blaming the media for releasing details, and I totally get media bias, is shifting the blame. If the words were never said and if they had chosen discretion, the media would have no ammunition. If ethical behavior had occurred, their would be nothing to report. If inappropriate actions had not been taken we would not have this talking point. 

I say this as one who has no right to judge. I am a sinner saved by grace. Yet, making excuses for sin devalues the gospel message. Thus making Christians appear like the often used stereotype…hypocrites. 

I am not seeking to change anyone’s vote. I am simply saying, vote your political beliefs. There is no need to apologize for that. After all this is a political race. As we appreciate athletes for their fitness and skills, we appreciate politicians for their politics. So vote for the party that best represents you. It is our right as United States citizens.  

The beautiful truth in all of this, is that we can be still and know that God is in charge. Nothing that happens is out of His control or beyond His ability to use for His glory. He ultimately will be exalted. I repeat Psalm 46:10 to myself anytime anxiety enters my mind or the fearmongering gets to me, “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

(Just my soap box…as a mother who had to explain issues to her young children that were uncomfortable. Also, I see a pattern in our culture of not accepting responsibility for our actions and choices. Even from our leaders who should be an example. This is truly not intended as a political statement and I would never share my political leanings. I would not want to distract from the message I am most passionate about…Jesus Christ Saves!). 

One thought on “My Soapbox

Leave a Reply

