Make Room


I recall hearing the Christmas story as a child and feeling indignation at the fact that there was no room in the inn for Jesus and his parents. How could there be no room for God’s Son? It felt so wrong to 7 year old me. 

Yet, when I ponder this, I realize that in many ways I am much like the innkeeper. I do not make room for Jesus. I allow the duties of the day to take the place of my time with my Savior. I place great value in the importance of my activities and less value on my moments with my Lord. 

I do not say this to make anyone feel guilty, rather to help us understand the innkeeper and his situation. I am sure if He had truly understood who He was entertaining that evening, he would have made room. I am positive he would have extended hospitality had he known he would become a pivotal character in our Heavenly Father’s plan to redeem the world. 

My prayer for each of us this Christmas season is that we would realize who we are given the privelege of entertaining,  worry less about the details of our celebration, and focus more on making room for Jesus.

And she gave birth to her firstborn son and wrapped him in swaddling cloths and laid him in a manger, because there was no place for them in the inn.  Luke 2:7

Leave a Reply

